Geelani condemns restrictions on pro-freedom leaders

BK Correspondent/SRINAGAR
February 16, 2017 CITY 283 Views

Hurriyat Conference (G) chairman Syed Ali Geelani Wednesday condemned the imposition of restrictions in Srinagar and other parts of the valley against Kulgam Chalo.
Huriyat in its statement issued to Brighter Kashmir said that police administration in view of the Kulgam Chalo arrested separatist leaders including Mirwaiz Omer Farooq, Mohammad Yasin Malik, Mohamad Ashraf Sehrai, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj u Din, Omer Adil Dar and scores of other leaders and party activists.
Geelani said, “the restrictions, crackdown against leaders and activists and clamping curfew like situation were illogical.These arbitrary measures as extreme state terrorism. Youth are being brutally massacred and we are not even allowed to mourn or offer tearful tributes to our martyrs,.”
“From day first and with the inception of coalition administration in state we are reeling under worst type of state terrorism and situation in state has turned from bad to worse and killing graph has suddenly gone up, “said Geelani.
He said that the state authorities are denying any political space to the pro-freedom leaders.
Commenting over incomparable force and the continuous use of pellet gun against peaceful protestors, Geelani said, “Dozens of protestors were showered pellets. Though pellet gun has been declared a lethal weapon and dozens of people have lost their eyesight, however administration exhibiting its arrogance and highhandedness has not stopped the use of this lethal weapon,.”
“Neither we have urged nor unnecessarily do we ask people to resent or follow strike calls, instead circumstances force us to opt for these peaceful measures. They are creating deliberately disturbances in state and they are hell-bent to cripple our economy. The sinister designs adopted by RSS led regime & in his appeal to people asked to understand their follies.”
Meanwhile on the directions of Geelani , a high-level deputation comprising of Haji Gh. Nabi Sumji, Farooq Ahmad Shah, Mohamad Ashraf Laya, Bilal Sidiqee, Mohamad Yassin Ataie, Ab Rashid Lone, Mohamad Ramzan Khan, Kh Firdouse, Mohamad Yusuf Mir (Freedom Party), Zaheer Abas and Sajad Lone reached Kulgam and paid their tributes to slain militants and expressed solidarity with bereaved families.

Related articles