Monsoon Session ends: Parliament passed 9 bills out of 25; productivity remains low at around 26.4%

Agencies/New Delhi
August 12, 2017 0 Comments NATIONAL 132 Views

The 19-day Monsoon Session of the Parliament concluded on Friday as the Upper House welcomed its new Chairman, M Venkaiah Naidu and bid farewell to three retiring members, Sitaram Yechury of CPM, Dilipbhai Pandya of BJP, and Debabrata Bandyopadhyay of All India Trinamool Congress. Both Houses have passed only nine out of the 25 bills on a range of subjects. The items on the government’s priority list were four bills to replace Ordinances such as the Motor Vehicles bill and bills related to the IIMs and IITs. The crucial Motor Vehicles Bill and ‘The Code on Wages’ bill could not be passed in the Monsoon Session of the Parliament.
According to The Indian Express, Lok Sabha worked for approximately 70 percent of its scheduled time, and Rajya Sabha for about 73 percent of the allotted time. The Upper House spent 22 hours discussing bills while the Lower House dedicated 28 hours out of the 71 functional hours to legislative business. That comes up to around 26.4 percent of productivity out of the hours allotted for functioning in the brief session of the Parliament.
The Rajya Sabha passed nine bills and held debates on a number of crucial issues like lynchings and the agrarian crisis facing the country in its 243rd session. A highlight of the session was that the new Chairman M Venkaian Naidu took over on its last day on Friday. During the 19 sittings, the House sat for more than 78 hours but lost nearly 25 hours due to disruptions over various issues.
The House also sat late for more than seven hours to complete legislative and other businesses. Naidu, before adjourning the House sine die, gave an overview of the proceedings during the session that began on 17 July. During the session, members spoke on the 75th anniversary of the Quit India movement and a resolution was adopted.
Two new members Vinay Dinu Tendulkar, Sampatiya Uikey joined the House while BSP leader Mayawati and M Venkaiah Naidu resigned. During the session, references were also made to the passing away of Union minister Anil Madhav Dave and sitting member Palvai Govardhan Reddy as well as 11 former members.
References were also made to torrential rains in several parts including the North East and the terror attack in Anantnag district of Jammu and Kashmir. Among the bills passed by the House were National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Bill, Indian Institutes of Information Technology (Public Private Partnership) Bill, Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Bill, etc.

Related articles


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply